Press Release:


Special Recognition for fallen Orlando Police Department Lieutenant Debra Clayton. Honorees Include: The Honorable Aramis Ayala, The Honorable Patty Sheehan, Lady Dhyana Ziegler, DCJ, PH.D., Dr. Rosalie Ellis Payne, Dr. Lucille O’Neal, Dr. Barbara Jenkins, Ed.D, Monica May, Camille M. Evans, Esq., Dr. Florence Alexander, Yolanda Cash Jackson, Esq., Lee Bryan, Mayor Carolyn Ford, Natalie Jackson, Esq., Beatrice Louissaint, Denèe Benton, Stefanie Campbell, Kathey Porter, Connie Kinnard, Lauren Houston, Dr. Ruby Cooper Darling and others.

February 6, 2017 – Orlando, FL – Herzing University and ONYX Magazine presents the 2nd Annual Women on the Move (WOTM) which honors a diverse array of women who are power brokers in their own right. Herzing University is our title sponsor for the event. Attendees will be inspired as the honorees are awarded on Thursday, March 16, 2017 from 11:30 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. EST at The Alfond Inn, Winter Park, Florida, 32879.

Join ONYX Magazine, Florida’s premier African-American publication, for what has become one of the most prestigious celebrations for Women of Color…Women on the Move. This highly anticipated event will recognize the accomplishments and contributions of some of Florida’s most influential and impactful women. “We are very honored to have Herzing University as our title sponsor for this year’s event”, said Mr. Richard E. “Rich” Black, Publisher/Editor-In-Chief.

The awards luncheon is slated for Thursday, March 16, 2017 at 11:30 a.m. at the elegant Alfond Inn located in Winter Park, Florida and will be hosted by Annetta Wilson, President of Annetta Wilson Media Training and Success Coaching. Keynote address will be provided by Dr. Rosalie Ellis Payne, recently retired, Sr. Director, Human Resources, Carnival Cruise Line.

Women on the Move celebrates trailblazers who have served to make a difference in their communities. These “can-do women” have shattered glass ceilings, achieved their full potential and paved the way for others in their chosen professions. Special recognition will be presented to honor fallen Orlando Police Department, Lieutenant Debra Clayton.

Women on the Move tickets will go on sale to the General Public today, January 26, 2017, through Eventbrite. Tickets start at $125 and tables of 10 at $1,000.

Honorees Include:

Special Recognition for fallen Orlando Police Department Lieutenant Debra Clayton Read more
  • Leticia Adams
  • Dr. Florence Alexander
  • The Honorable Aramis Ayala
  • Denèe Benton
  • Vernice Atkins Bradley
  • Jackie Brockington
  • Lee Bryan
  • Stephanie Campbell
  • Dr. Ruby Ann Darling
  • Dr. Angela Felecia Epps, J.D.
  • Camille M. Evans, Esq.
  • Carolyn Grant -Ford, ED.S
  • Denise Hicks
  • Lauren Houston
  • Natalie Jackson, Esq
  • Yolanda Cash Jackson
  • Dr. Barbara Jenkins, Ed. D
  • Connie Kinnard
  • Beatrice Louissaint
  • Dr. Lucille O’Neal
  • Maritza Martinez, MA, MBA
  • Monica May
  • Dr. Rosalie Ellis Payne, D.B. A.
  • Kathey Porter, MBA, CPSD
  • Marisol Romany, CCDP/AP
  • The Honorable Patty Sheehan
  • Seretha Tinsley
  • The Honorable Viviana Janer
  • Dr. Felicia Williams, ED. D
  • Dr. Dyana Ziegler, DCJ, Ph.D
As noted by WOTM Co-chair Deidre Parker, owner of Parker Realty, "Our 2017 Women on the Move Honorees embody the spirit and resilience of their predecessors – women like Fanny Lou Hammer, Dr. Mary McLeod Bethune, Oprah Winfrey, First Lady Michelle Obama and others who have dedicated their lives to transformative leadership.”

For More Information:

For more information on the Women on the Move (WOTM) or ONYX Magazine, please contact Marianne Eggleston at or call 1-855-986-ONYX (6699) Extension 5